If you have a commercial license, a conviction for reckless driving could spell an early end to your career. An experienced reckless driving advocate in Virginia can provide you with information about reckless drivers and CDL drivers if you have been charged. This lawyer can help you fight the charges and try to avoid a conviction and reduce the penalties associated with a conviction for reckless driving.
If you are charged with reckless driving, you face criminal charges. You must combat the serious consequences you face when you drive a commercial vehicle while it is in operation. If you don’t have a CDL license, you can’t legally drive in Virginia.
Two serious infringements within three years can result in a fine of up to $1,000 and / or six months in prison for operating a commercial vehicle. Reckless driving is considered a serious offence by the FMCSA if it is encouraged by reckless driving.
The FMCSA does not provide its own definition of reckless driving. Instead, it uses the general definition in the National Road Safety Regulations of the German Federal Motor Transport Authority.
The law defines reckless driving as “driving a motor vehicle in a manner that endangers life, limb or property. When determining whether the reckless handling of a driver with a vehicle is a serious infringement that can lead to disqualification, the FMCSA also includes the infringement of the rules of the Federal Motor Transport Authority for the operation of a commercial vehicle.
Infringements for the purpose of driving disqualification are considered to be offences which result in a motorist exceeding the speed limit by more than 50 km / h near the destination.
The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles also disqualifies CDL drivers for serious violations, including speeding 15 mph or more, texting while driving a commercial vehicle and speeding while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. FMCSA penalties are the penalties imposed by the courts of the states of Virginia and Virginia. Under Virginia law, a CDL operator is fined $1,000 for each of the two “serious violations” for which he is convicted over a three-year period. Three further breaches in three years can result in 180 days of disqualification. In Virginia, reckless driving can lead to further consequences in addition to the revocation of a commercial license. Motorists convicted of reckless driving could be fined, lose their license or face jail. Professional drivers must talk to a reckless driver’s assistant if they are accused of serious breaches of the driving rules. Your livelihood is at stake, and you have the legal help you need to fight the charges and try to keep your driving license and clean driving license intact.