If you are facing a charge of negligent or reckless driving in the state of Pennsylvania, you may be concerned about the penalties that a conviction might entail. Consider the following list of possible penalties for negligent driving in Pennsylvania: fines, prison sentences and / or suspended sentences.
If you are a CDL driver, it can mean the end of your career. If you or someone else is injured or killed in an accident, the allegations can escalate into serious allegations if the police find that you were at least partially to blame. The penalties can be even harsher if the authorities find that you have failed to stay after the accident, or if you fail to run over a police officer. This is simply not meant as a throw-away insult as it can have a huge impact on your life.
You can only know what is possible in terms of your defense if you hire a capable and qualified criminal defense attorney who knows how to fully fight for your rights. The worst thing that can happen is that you are innocent and that someone else is really to blame.
Anyone who falls asleep at the wheel, for example, must expect to be charged with driving without a licence. Driving in Pennsylvania is a summary charge that resembles a traffic ticket and adds three points to your license, more than you are charged for leaving the scene of an accident. It is considered a serious traffic offense and applies throughout Pennsylvania. If you do not intentionally drive in a dangerous manner, it is less than two ads and it does not apply to you.
They face a $250 fine. If a person dies, the fine doubles to $500. He is charged with negligent bodily harm.
Driving instructions in Pennsylvania are based on intent, which is an important difference in the eyes of the law. The charge means police believe he acted recklessly at the wheel. The charges carry up to 90 days in prison.
If convicted of reckless driving in Pennsylvania, he will face a fine of at least $200 and lose his license for five years. He also faces up to 90 days in prison. If you drive in Pennsylvania, you have the option to reduce or dismiss your charges depending on the facts. Going to court alone does not mean that you will be convicted of any charges, although a lawyer can promise you that you will escape punishment entirely. Only an experienced criminal defense attorney will help you find ways to fight for your rights, and can give you the best possible result.